Brace Yourself: Week 7 Reflective Summary

Braces_cement_placement

This post will be the last of my weekly reflective summaries. Next week I will be posting a much longer reflection, but it will focus on the entire course rather than just a 7 day increment. I am very excited at the prospect, but am slightly disappointed to be ending my current (weekly) narratives. I love to write and will continue to do so, but the format/content will change as things often do.

With that being said, let’s jump into my Week 7 summary! Over the past several days, I am pleased to say that I was able to maintain my high-level of momentum. The assignments were challenging, fun, and instrumental in my development as a digital storyteller. In some cases such as my Daily Creates, I was able to further solidify my literacies and skills. I have become quite proficient at editing photos in numerous programs and software. My DS106 Assignment was especially rewarding because I opted to use Photoshop-a tool with which my familiarity can only be described as “on the surface”. It was a seemingly easy assignment, but I went out of my way to challenge myself (pulling not pushing)!

The reading response and digital story critique proved to be challenging in that I was very aware that this is the last week before final projects. In other words, I knew I only had one more “weekly” chance and wanted to make the most of the opportunity. My previous reading responses were (admittedly) very long which caused me to feel a small degree of self-consciousness. I am happy with them, but was worried that I had been rambling and often spent time meditating on how to make them even better. This week I reminded myself that I am not obligated to include EVERY SINGLE suggested reading and that a well-written post on one assigned article is usually better than a mediocre/poor one on several texts.

less-is-more-791109_960_720

I am pleased to say that I kept my promise to explore new formats in my digital story critique. The only issue I’ve had with these exercises is that finding a piece relevant to “Libraries and Librarianship” always proves challenging . But isn’t that part of the fun? Also, I previously had the tendency to select pieces I happened to “like” as opposed to anything I could find. By selecting a piece of lower quality, I taught myself a valuable lesson in the importance of not liking everything. Honesty and not holding back are important traits.

As previously stated, I am happy with the quality of my work for the past week. However, I am always aware that room for improvement is a constant presence. The most challenging aspect of this week and previous ones has been maintaining a high level of interaction on Hypothes.is and other social media. I trained myself to check every outlet of mine at least twice a day. Although some days were more active than others, I think I did a pretty good job of communicating and collaborating. Upon seeing the habits of others, however, I realize that practice makes perfect and engaging with your peers is addictive (in the best possible way). My biggest challenge will be to keep a critical eye on my past activity as I complete my portfolio.

These assignments have also continued to introduce new dimensions to my “Libraries and Librarianship” theme (namely Privilege). While I’ve spent extensive amounts of time pondering other relevant topics such as the role of libraries and librarians in developing literacies and the best methodologies for doing so effectively, I never considered the implications of privilege as it relates to library services. Overall, I feel like offering free resources for personal improvement can be instrumental in correcting social inequalities. Just as libraries are repositories of information and help for the public, their potential for empowerment includes countless dimensions.

Self-Assessment: Exceeds expectations. Sometimes I need to give myself more credit.

Leave a Reply

