5 Problems with Social Media

I’m sure I can speak for many people when I say I have mixed feelings about these problems with social media. The ability to share anything requires a lot of personal responsibility. In a nutshell, people do not exercise their best judgement when posting something on Facebook or Twitter which often “destroys relationships”, “creates triggers”, or something even worse. Despite these issues, I am aware that there are many people who exercise control with their social media presence. These people share only appropriate things and possess a strong understanding of the consequences of oversharing.

In order to address the issues that “oversharing” poses, I have been keeping my social media presence very compartmentalized. For instance, I only use Facebook for personal material. I have a “no coworker” policy when it comes to “friending” people and am still cautious about what I share. For this course and my other professional activities, I use LinkedIn. I only have a small amount of overlap between my “friends” and my “connections”, but I need to keep a clear dividing line between business and personal. If not, I fear that I will overshare.

The observations in “Response B” definitely ring true for me. After reading this, I was immediately reminded of Louis C.K.’s views on cellphones: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/entry/louis-ck-cell-phones_us_56043b77e4b08820d91c0661

My views on social media are not completely in line with the views presented by Louis C.K., but I see where he (and the author of “Response B”) are coming from. More specifically, I think that overuse (every second, or close) of social media causes an inability to be in the present with your thoughts as well as extreme difficulty with being alone. When seeing friends post the happy aspects of their lives, it makes one jealous, unhappy, and yearn for social acceptance.
Despite these problems, I intend to use my work to illustrate that social media can be a very effective tool and positive force when used properly. Instead of spending every free moment online, I devote specific blocks of my schedule to my social media assignments and projects. I only check Facebook once every hour or so and am reluctant to incorporate more outlets unless I see enormous benefit.
I think I will write about the merits of keeping your online presence compartmentalized.

Leave a Reply

