Tribes

I’ve recently done some readings by people like Steve Godin about tribes. When using the term”tribe”, he (and others) are referring to a group of like minded people who share common views and compassion for each other. I like to think of it as a “collective identity” in which all members identify with one another.

At this point in my life, I belong to many tribes: librarians, graduate students, alums of my college, members of my group of friends. By digging deeper, I can easily find other tribal components of my identity, but let’s just start with these.

In my current profession, I feel strongly connected to other library professionals through professional events, social networks, and even daily communication.

As a graduate student, I am frequently interacting with others in the course module as well as through email.

I communicate with other alums from my college on a fairly regular basis, but with there were more communication.

I see my friends as often as possible.

It seems to be the case that the moe connected we are, the happier we will be. I find that with all these tribes, I get out as much as I put in. I have benefitted immensely in some cases.

 

 

One thought on “Tribes

  1. Leyna Bencomo

    I’m finding that many of my tribes are work related. I’d like to cultivate more socially related tribes. I do remember a time when they came more naturally but I think its harder to keep them together. They do require time and that seems to be something I have little of these years.

    By the way, I love your card catalog graphic. Great choice.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

